1st XLIC Training School

The first Theoretical School of XLIC COST Action (CM1204) took place in Zaragoza (Spain) at ZCAM Conference Building. It was co-organized with CECAM (www.cecam.org)) and the ITN CORINF (www.corinf.eu).

The school was articulated in two modules of one week each.

The first module dealt with the calculation of bound electronically excited states in small polyatomic molecules and the subsequent time evolution of the nuclei on and across electronic potential-energy surfaces. The ab initio calculation of these processes, which are at the core of all chemical transformations initiated by light, are receiving increasing interest due to their potential applications to many areas of both fundamental and applied chemistry. This is also thanks to the development of faster computers and new methodologies, which has made it possible to study in a time-resolved way the reactivity of increasingly larger systems.

The second module introduced its participants to state-of-the-art ab-initio, hybrid and TDDFT numerical methods that can cope with the ultra-fast electron dynamics triggered by sub-femtosecond light pulses. The classes in this module had an emphasis on the dynamics of unbound electron wave packets generated by the interaction of atoms and molecules with strong-fields, and on the need to go beyond single-active-electron models to properly account for the role of electron correlation. Both modules included theoretical and practical sessions.

The participants gave very positive evaluations of the content and quality of the lectures. Trainees attending the school (53 in total) ranged from postdoctoral researchers to MSc students.

Module1-picture-2 Module2-picture-2


Manuel ALCAMí, Autonomous University of Madrid (Spain)
Luca ARGENTI, Autonomous University of Madrid (Spain)
Pedro B. COTO, Institut für Theoretische Physik, Friedrich-Alexander Universtät Erlangen-Nürnberg (Germany)
Alberto CASTRO, University of Zaragoza (Spain)
Ines CORRAL, Autonomous University of Madrid (Spain)
Jose Antonio GÁMEZ, Max Planck Institute fUr Kohlenforschung (Germany)
Umberto DE GIOVANNINNI, University of the Basque Country (Spain)
Jesus GONZALEZ-VAZQUEZ, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid (Spain)
Mikhail IVANOV, Max Born Institute, Berlin (Germany)/Imperial College, London (UK)
Fernando MARTIN, Autonomous University of Madrid (Spain)
Felipe MORALES MORENO, Max Born Institute, Berlin (Germany)
Serguei PATCHKOVSKII, Max Born Institute, Berlin (Germany)
Armin SCRINZI, Technical University of Vienna, Vienna (Austria)
Olga SMIRNOVA, Max Born Institut, Berlin (Germany)
Alejandro ZIELINSKI, Ludwig-Maximilians Universität München (Germany)


Jake Adam Wilson, University of Valencia (Spain)
David AYUSO, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (Spain)
Péter BADANKó, University of Debrecen (Hungary)
Roger-Yulier BELLO ROMERO, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (Spain)
Efrem BERNUZ, University of Barcelona (Spain)
María BLANCO DE PAZ, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (Spain)
Anna CEBRIAN, University of Barcelona (Spain)
Alexis-Agustín CHACóN SALAZAR, The Institute of Photonic Sciences (Spain)
Toni DAS, University College London (United Kingdom)
Selma ENGIN, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (Spain)
Ewa ERDMANN, Gdansk University Of Technology (Poland)
Rui-Emanuel FERREIRA DA SILVA, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid (Spain)
Ola HASSOUNEH, Queen’s university Belfast (United Kingdom)
Ahmad HURAN, University of Valencia (Spain)
Alvaro JIMENEZ GALAN, Universidad Autonoma Madrid (Spain)
Fernando JIMéNEZ GRáVALOS, Universitat de Barcelona (Spain)
Markus KLINKER, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid (Spain)
Manuel LARA ASTIASO, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid (Spain)
Meeri LEMBINEN, University of Tartu (Estonia)
Antoni MACIà ESCATLLAR, Universitat de Barcelona (Spain)
Erik MåNSSON, CNR-IFN, Politecnico di Milano (Italy)
Carlos MARANTE, Autonomous University of Madrid (Spain)
Carlos MARTíN FERNáNDEZ, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (Spain)
Alejandro MARTíN RODRíGUEZ, University of Barcelona (Spain)
Andrew MAXWELL, University College London (United Kingdom)
Ion MITXELENA, Universidad del País Vasco (Spain)
Rian MORGAN, Queens Univesity Belfast (United Kingdom)
Peter MULHOLLAND, Queen”s University Belfast (United Kingdom)
Julen MUNáRRIZ, University of Valencia (Spain)
Alba NIN HILL, Universitat de Barcelona (Spain)
Andrés-Felipe ORDóñEZ LASSO, Universidad Autónoma de Madird (Spain)
Paula PLA TERRADA, University of Valencia (Spain)
Nicola QUADRI, Universitá di Trieste (Italy)
Andres ROMERO, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid (Spain)
Sonia ROMERO TéLLEZ, UB universitat de Barcelona (Spain)
Marin SAPUNAR, Rudjer Boskovic Institute (Croatia)
Valérie SCHWANEN, University of Liège (Belgium)
Danilo SIMOES BRAMBILA, Max Born Institute (Germany)
Janne SOLANPÃä, Tampere University of Technology (Finland)
Rizalina Tama SARAGI, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid (Spain)
Attila TOTH, University of Debrecen (Hungary)
Olatz URANGA, Universidad del País Vasco (Spain)
Morgane VACHER, Imperial College London (United Kingdom)
Mireia Via Nadal, UB universitat de Barcelona (Spain)
Juan-José Villaverde, Universidad Autonoma de Madrid (Spain)
Jack WRAGG, Queens University Belfast (United Kingdom)
Carlos ZAGOYA MONTIEL, University College London (United Kingdom)
Patrick ZOBEL, University of Vienna (Austria)
Gellért ZSOLT, Cluj University (Romania)

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.